RSS

Kei Chasal – newest creator at Littlefield Mall

12 Jan

This edition of our creator’s blog I am introducing you all to Kei Chasal. Kei has just recently joined us at Littlefield, she has opened a store with some wonderful creations, she is truly a fabulous mesh artist.  Welcome to Littlefield Kei, it’s a pleasure to have you join our family.

Kei1

Tell me a little about yourself?
I’m Kei! I spend a lot of time in-world, creating things and just hanging out. I love mesh, and feel like there isn’t enough freely available, so I make things to offer to the community.

How long have you been creating items in virtual worlds?
From the first box I rezzed in SL to now, it’s probably been about 7 years since I first started. That first box led to a super basic cube-house, and took off from there.

What other virtual worlds have you live in?
Until recently, I’ve only been on Second Life, though that account is only left to grab my old work if I want it.

How did you find your way to OSgrid?
To be completely honest, I’m not really sure. I can’t remember if I was searching for a new grid, or if I just stumbled across some information, but I made my avatar immediately, and have made my Home here.

What bought you to OSgrid?
The Open Source aspect was a huge draw for me. I’m all for freedom of information, and sharing creations within the community. I love that you can come here and exist in whatever capacity you want, completely free, and without the restrictions and drama that LL brings to the whole thing. Essentially, it feels how SL did that first time I logged in, except here, the feeling stays.

What type of items do you create in world?
I create primarily furniture and prefab structures, at the moment. In the future I hope to offer more in the way of attachments, though that will probably wait until I’ve got enough of a product base to warrant the extra time involved. I’d rather get a variety of products out before I start the higher quality, more time intensive works.

What was your initial reaction to OSgrid when you first arrived here?
It’s empty! At first, I didn’t see many people around, and figured the grid was kind of dead. But, I wandered around a bit, and found enough cool people to warrant sticking around. I was also surprised at the quality of available items. I expected an open source grid to be rather full of low quality freebies, but ended up seeing a lot of cool stuff, and some things that I can’t imagine even trying to improve upon.

What makes OSgrid different from other virtual worlds like Second life?
The community is much more giving, as a whole, and people are willing to spend a lot of time helping each other. It feels more like a proper community to me, and with no currency to bog things down, people seem to feel more free to create whatever, without needing to think about if they can sell it. It’s a more personal side of content creation, to me.

Any tips for those wanting to start creating content for virtual worlds?
I always recommend tutorials. My best learning method has always been video tutorials, and you can bet there’s one out there specifically for what you’re trying to do. Beyond that, create what you like. You’ll end up more willing to invest time in things if it’s what you’re into, and you don’t want to dread continuing a project, just because it’s for someone else.

Where do you draw on for your inspiration for creating in virtual worlds?
Everything around me. I’ll see something, or hear people talking about a product, and decide to see what I can do with the same basic idea. My hard drive is full of 3d sketches of things. From that basic idea, if I feel like I can offer something new, or better, I’ll work out my own design. I keep Blender and Photoshop up at all times, and sketch things out constantly.

Where can we find your store in OSgrid?
hop://login.osgrid.org/Littlefield/166/147/22

Custom::
I do work by request, as long as I’m free to distribute a basic version of the product.

Kei2 Kei3 Kei4

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 12, 2013 in Announcements

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
